Uddhav Thackeray takes oath as legislator

Mumbai, May 18

Maharashtra Chief Minister Uddhav Thackeray on Monday took oath as a member of the state Legislative Council at a function held here at the assembly building.

Ramraje Naik Nimbalkar, chairman, Maharashtra Legislative Council, administered the oath to Thackeray and eight others who were elected unopposed to the upper house last week.

Apart from Thackeray, Deputy Chairperson of the Council Neelam Gorhe from the Shiv Sena, BJP’s MLCs Ranjitsinh Mohite Patil, Gopichand Padalkar, Praveen Datke and Ramesh Karad, the Nationalist Congress Party’s Shashikant Shinde and Amol Mitkari and Rajesh Rathod of the Congress were sworn in as members.

All the MLCs were elected from the 288 members of the state Legislative Assembly.

Thackeray, who was sworn in as chief minister in November 28 last year, was required by law to become member of either house within six months.

The elections to the upper house of the state legislature, which was due last month, was postponed due to the COVID-19 pandemic.

Read more