Monday 13 July 2020

SAD appoints special observers to boost the membership drive in 23 constituencies

- Posted on 14 August 2019

Earlier appointed district observers would continue their job of overseeing the membership operations

Chandigarh/August 14: The Shiromani Akali Dal (SAD) president S. Sukhbir Singh Badal today accelerated the party’s membership drive by appointing some senior SAD leaders as special observers in 23 assembly constituencies to oversee the recruitment operations as these constituencies did not have any observers earlier heading the membership operations.

In a press release from the Party Headquarters, Senior Vice president and spokesperson Dr. Daljeet Singh Cheema said that there are 23 assembly constituencies in the state from where the SAD does not contest assembly polls. “Special duties have been assigned to some senior leaders of the party in order to run a smooth membership drive in these areas” he said, adding that Bibi jagir Kaur would oversee the membership operations in Dasuya constituency, Mahesh Inder Singh Grewal in Ludhiana (West), Sharanjit Singh Dhillon in Ludhiana (Central), Ranjit Singh Dhillon in Ludhiana (North), Dr. Daljeet Singh Cheema in Anandpur Sahib, Hira Singh Gabria in Jalandhar ( North), Shri Harish Rai Dhanda in Jalandhar (Central) and Gurzar Singh Ranike in Dinanagar (SC) constituency as well.

Dr. Cheema further added that similarly, Janmeja Singh Sekhon has been assigned as the observer of Firozpur (City) constituency while giving powers of assistant observer to Joginder Singh Jindu. Shri NK Sharma would supervise the membership drive in Rajpura constituency, Gurbachan Singh Babbehali in Pathankot & Bhoa (SC) constituencies, Lakhbir Singh Lodhinangal in Sujanpur, Pawan Kumar Tinu in Jalandhar (West)-SC constituency, Dr. Sukhwinder Sukhi in Hoshiarpur, Sarbjit Singh Makkar in Mukerian, Kanwarjit Singh Rozi Barkandi in Abohar, Satinderjit Singh Manta in Fazilka and Baldev Singh Khara in Phagwara (SC) constituency as well.

Dr.Cheema informed that S. Veer Singh Lopoke would be an overall in-charge of Amritsar (Urban) constituency while other leaders would assist him by overseeing the membership drive in various constituencies of the city. Among them, Bawa Singh Gumanpur, Kiranpreet Singh Monu, Surjit Singh Bhalwan and Shawinder Singh Kotkhalsa would help S. Lopoke to run the membership operations in Amritsar (West)-SC constituency.

Rajinder Singh Mehta, Avinash Jolly, and Dilbag Singh Ex-MC would assist to boost the membership drive in Amritsar (Central) constituency while Gurpreet Singh Randhawa, Harjaap Singh, Malkiat Singh Valla, and Shamsher Singh Shera would provide assistance in Amritsar (East) constituency as well.

Read more

Punjabupdate is the free media platform established with a view to uphold what the fourth estate stands for without making any tall claims. Our practice so far has been to be non-conformist rather than flowing with the tide. We know this is not the easy path but then it has always been so. It is credibility and independence that are dear to us and epitomise our core values. We will question what is wrong and espouse what we feel is the right cause, at the same time fully conscious that both are relative terms but we will go by the interpretations are rooted in the collective consciousness of the people. At the same time, we will not stake any claim to be moralists as that can the most difficult test to pass and we admit it.
Copyright 2020 ©