PM Modi, others take oath on first day of 17th Lok Sabha

New Delhi: The first session of Parliament after the national elections will begin on Monday during which the government will present the Union budget and introduce several bills.

As soon as the House met, the Members stood in silence for a few minutes as per the convention after the assembling of the new Lok Sabha.

When Modi’s name was called out, Members from the ruling NDA thumped the desk greeting the Prime Minister with slogans such as ‘Modi Modi’ and “Bharat Mata ki Jai.

The panel of presiding officers – K Suresh, Brijbhushan Sharan Singh and B Mehtab – took oath as Members after the Prime Minister.

On Sunday, Prime Minister Narendra Modi held an all-party meeting to seek support for the smooth running of the Parliament.

The Union budget will be presented by Nirmala Sitharaman on July 5.

Read more