Davesh Moudgil elected as New Chandigarh Mayor


Chandigarh, Jan 9: Davesh Moudgil of the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) was elected as the new mayor of Chandigarh after he got 22 out of 27 votes on Tuesday in the Chandigarh Municipal Corporation Mayoral Elections 2017. Gurpreet Dhillon and Vinod Aggarwal have been elected as Senior Deputy Mayor and Deputy Mayor respectively.

Total votes: 27 (including 1 vote of MP, who is ex-officio member. BJP MP Kirron Kher is the ex-officio member at present)

BJP: 20 

Congress: 4

SAD: 1 (BJP Ally)

Independent: 1 

Read more