Sunday 12 July 2020


- Posted on 10 November 2019


On the occasion of 550th Prakash Purb celebrations of Sri Guru Nanak Dev Ji, the Punjab Chief Minister Captain Amarinder Singh on Sunday conferred achievers award to over 400 eminent Punjabi personalities for their outstanding contribution in various fields.

Captain Amarinder Singh said that he was overwhelmed for felicitating all those Punjabis who have distinguished themselves in different walks of life. Be it public life, military, civil services, judiciary or legal profession, business, agriculture, academics, religious, social activists, artistes, litterateurs, poets, progressive farmers, environmentalists, science and research, sports, culture and media, our people have done extremely well and made our country and Punjab proud.

Prominent achievers amongst others, who were bestowed with this coveted honour for religious and social activities included Singh Sahib Giani Ranjit Singh Gauhar Jathedar Takht Sri Patna Sahib, Baba Iqbal Singh, Baba Sewa Singh, Baba Balbir Singh Budha Dal, Sant Baba Mahinder Singh, Sant Avtar Singh, Sant Baljinder Singh, Mahant Raminder Dass, Sant Kulwant Ram Bharomajara, Sant Nirmal Dass Baba Jaure, Sant Gurdeep Giri, Sant Makhan Singh, Sant Baba Mahinder Singh Lamiya Wale and Sant Baba Nihal Singh Harian Belan wale.

Captain Amarinder Singh also honoured the distinguished officers from Defence Services namely former Air Chief Marshal B.S. Dhanoa, Gen (Retd) J.J. Singh, Air Marshal Jagjit Singh, Brig. (retd) Sukhjit Singh, Lt. Gen. (retd) K.J. Singh, Lt. Gen (retd) N.S. Brar, Lt. Gen (retd) J.S. Cheema, Lt. Gen. (retd) Surinder Singh, Lt. Gen. (retd) NPS Heera besides former Union Minister and eminent Columnist Arun Shourie. Amongst legal luminaries honoured on the occasion Justice Mehtab Singh Gill, Justice G.R. Majithia, Justice Amarbir Singh Gill, Justice Gurdev Singh, Justice S. S. Saron, former Union Minister Ashwani Kumar and Advocate KTS Tulsi.

Noted personalities from the field of art, culture, music and literature included Surjit Patar, Hans Raj Hans, Puran Chand Wadali, Malkit Singh, Dilip Kaur Tiwana, Gurmeet Bawa, Bhai Baldeep Singh, Beenu Dhillon, Jaswinder Bhalla, Balbir Rishi, Mohammad Sadique, Sardool Sikander, Puran Shah Koti, Gurpreet Singh Ghuggi, Preeti Sapru, Babu Singh Mann Savita Bhatti the wife of Jaspal Bhatti and Manmohan Singh. Leading NRIs who were awarded with the Achievers Award included Harbhajan Singh Virdi, Lord Raj Loomba, Lord Swaraj Paul, SPS Oberoi and Kamaljit Bakshi.

In sports category, the Chief Minister also felicitated Padam Shri Balbir Singh Senior, Harmanpreet Kaur, Pargat Singh, Kartar Singh, Avneet Kaur, Manjit Kaur and Mann Kaur.

Read more

Punjabupdate is the free media platform established with a view to uphold what the fourth estate stands for without making any tall claims. Our practice so far has been to be non-conformist rather than flowing with the tide. We know this is not the easy path but then it has always been so. It is credibility and independence that are dear to us and epitomise our core values. We will question what is wrong and espouse what we feel is the right cause, at the same time fully conscious that both are relative terms but we will go by the interpretations are rooted in the collective consciousness of the people. At the same time, we will not stake any claim to be moralists as that can the most difficult test to pass and we admit it.
Copyright 2020 ©