Amritsar MP Gurjit Aujla among seven Congress MPs suspended from Lok Sabha for “unruly behaviour”

New Delhi, March 5: Amritsar MP Gurjit Aujla is among the seven Congress MPs suspended from Lok Sabha for the remainder of the budget session for “unruly behaviour and disrespect to the chair”.

Lok Sabha presiding officer Meenakshi Lekhi named Congress MPs Gaurav Gogoi, TN Prathapan, Desn Kuriakose, Rajmohan Unnithan, Manick Tagore, Benny Behnan and Aujla soon after the house met at 3 pm after an hour-long adjournment.

“These members snatched papers from the chair and tore them and threw them towards the chair displaying conduct unprecedented in the history of this house. I am naming them for their absolutely condemnable behaviour,” said Lekhi.

Parliamentary Affairs Minister Pralhad Joshi then moved a resolution under Rule 374 A of Lok Sabha proceedings recommending suspension of the seven MPs for the rest of the budget session. The resolution was passed by a voice vote in favour of it.

The above MPs had torn papers and thrown them at the chair, an act Lekhi condemned naming them under rule 374 A and paving the way for their suspension.

Read more